Updated: Here are the leaders in the race to unseat Richland’s mayor and 2 other council veterans

Richland voters have sent three veteran city councilmembers to the general election in Tuesday’s primary election.

Robert J. “Bob” Thompson, Phil Lemley and Brad Anderson all survived serious primary challenges to advance to the Nov. 5 general election, according to results updated Wednesday by the Benton County Auditor.

The auditor did not indicate how many ballots are left. Ballots postmarked by election day will be counted as they arrive.

Pos. 1: Thompson will advance to the general election with 2,207 votes or about 32 percent of the votes cast.

The race for the second place in the four-way contest remained too close to call even after Wednesday’s update. Lillian “Randy” Slovic received 1,573 votes or nearly 23 percent.

Bob Thompson 2017.jpg
Bob Thompson

She widened her lead over Kalen Finn to 22 votes. Fourth-place finisher Wendi Warner was just a few votes behind at 1,494 votes, or 22 percent..

Thompson currently serves as the city’s mostly honorary mayor.

Post. 2: Incumbent Brad Anderson will face off against Shir Regev.

Anderson received 3,084 votes to Regev’s 2,713, or 45 percent to about 39 percent. A third candidate, Larry Stanley, received 1,080 votes, or 16 percent.

Pos. 5: Incumbent Phil Lemley, a Hanford retiree, will face challenger Lisa Thomas, a nurse. Lemley received 2,804 votes and Thomas 2,501, or 40 percent to 36 percent.

Phillip Lemley
Phillip Lemley Courtesy

The other candidates were Kurt Maier, who received 1,147 votes (16 percent) and Mike Luzzo, who received 506 (7 percent).

Pos. 6: Councilman Terry Christensen will face off against Kyle Palmer. This race was not on the primary because it had only two candidates.

All Richland council races are elected from the city at large.

Richland ensures four seats — a majority of the seven-member council — face re-election every other other year by giving a two-year seat to the person who wins the November election with the least number of votes.

Thompson holds the two-year term after narrowly winning re-election in 2017.

The new council members will take office in January. At that time, the council will select one of its own to serve a two-year term as mayor.

The primary election results will be certified on Aug. 20.

Wendy Culverwell writes about local government and politics, focusing on how those decisions affect your life. She also covers key business and economic development changes that shape our community. Her restaurant column and health inspection reports are reader favorites. She’s been a news reporter in Washington and Oregon for 25 years.