Hydro Racing

HYDROS: U-5 Graham wins Columbia Cup

Jimmy Shane of the U-5 Graham Trucking held off J. Michael Kelly in one of the closest hydroplane race finals in the history of the sport to win the annual Columbia Cup.

Shane won by 0.2 tenths of a second over Kelly.

Steve David in the U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto led the entire race but had a one-lap penalty for jumping the one-minute line. Dave Villwock of the U-1 Spirit of Qatar, who had a tough Sunday, finished third but was never a factor in the final.

Here is the order of finish in the Championship Heat of the 2012 Columbia Cup.

Championship Heat

U-5 Graham Trucking

U-37 Miss Beacon Plumbing

U-1 Spirit of Qatar

U-88 Degree Men

U-9 Les Schwab

U-6 Oh Boy! Oberto

DNS: 100 Leland Unlimited