Other Local Sports

Suh, Roy win at Oregon Sports Awards

BEAVERTON, Ore. -- Heisman Trophy finalist Ndamukong Suh and three-time NBA All-Star Brandon Roy were big winners at the Oregon Sports Awards Sunday night.

Suh, the All-American defensive tackle from Nebraska and graduate of Portland's Grant High School, won the Bill Hayward amateur athlete award for men.

"It's a blessing to be back here in my home state," Suh told those who attended the ceremony on the Nike campus.

Trail Blazers guard Roy took the Harry Glickman professional athlete honor for men for the third consecutive year, joining Dan Fouts, Peter Jacobsen and Dale Murphy as three time winners of the award. Clyde Drexler won the Glickman five times.

Olympic gold-medal winning fencer Mariel Zagunis of Beaverton won the Glickman female award.

Ashley Charters, from Southridge High School, was the Hayward female winner. She helped Washington win the NCAA softball championship last year and was a first-team All-American.

First-year Oregon football coach Chip Kelly, who coached the Ducks to their first Rose Bowl in 15 years, was named the Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year.

The Johnny Carpenter prep athlete category expanded from two awards to four awards, with honors going to athletes from Class 6A/5A and Class 4A/3A/2A/1A. From the larger classifications, the winners were Elizabeth Brenner of Jesuit High School and Ryan Crouser of Barlow.

The smaller schools' winners were Taylor Wallace of Henley and co-boys winners Nevin Lewis of Culver and Jordan Poyer of Astoria.

Brenner was all-state in basketball, softball and volleyball. Crouser won the under-17 division shot put and discus at the USA Youth Nationals.

Wallace, a 2007 winner of the Carpenter award, who now runs track and cross-country at Oregon, ran the fastest 800 meters in the state in 20 years (2:10:57) and also won state titles in the 1,500 and 3,000 meters.

Lewis, now a football player at Portland State, won 2A state titles in the 100, 200 and 400 meters as well as the long jump, setting meet records in each event.

Poyer, a member of Oregon State's football team, went 10-1 on the mound for Astoria's state champion baseball team.

The George Pasero Team of the Year Award was shared by three national champions: the George Fox women's basketball team of the NCAA Division III classification; the Northwest Blaze, winners of the Amateur Softball Association of America under-16 girls title; and the University of Oregon men's indoor track team.

Linfield College quarterback Aaron Boehme and George Fox basketball player Kristen Shielee captured the Ad Rutschman small college athlete awards. Boehme led the Wildcats to a 12-1 season and the NCAA Division III semifinals. Shielee was a second-team All-American center for the national champion Bruins.

The Nike-Steve Prefontaine Award, presented to the top senior prep distance runner, went to Cole Watson of Rogue River High School.

Merit awards for longtime service went to Paul Allen, who is in his 21st year as owner of the Trail Blazers, and football coach Mouse Davis, who stepped down as offensive coordinator at Portland State last year after 50 years in coaching.

"We've known it for a long time, but the fans here in Portland are special," said Allen, who announced earlier this year that he was being treated for non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

Allen recieved a standing ovation.

Gladstone's Meagan Paxton received the Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year award.

Al Reser, a longtime supporter of Oregon State University athletics and academics, took the Les Schwab Friend of Sports award.

The sold-out event, once known as the Hayward Awards, and now in its 58th year, was hosted for the fourth year by broadcaster Ahmad Rashad -- a former University of Oregon football star -- and was staged at the Tiger Woods Center on the Nike World Campus.