High School Sports

2011 boys cross country state previews

PASCO -- Here is a preview of each classification for the 2011 state cross country meet:

Class 4A

Time: 2:30 p.m.

2010 champions: Eisenhower; Kenji Bierig, sr., Lewis & Clark (15:09.0)

Individuals to watch: Korey Krotzer, sr., Auburn Riverside; Andrew Gardner, jr., Mead; Jacob Smith, sr., Wenatchee; Jaziel Rodriguez, sr., Eisenhower; Keegan Symmes, jr., Skyline; Sumner Goodwin, jr., Lewis & Clark; JP Wolpert, sr., Walla Walla; Santos Vargas, sr., Eisenhower; Nicholas Boersma, sr., Wenatchee

Local qualifiers: Wolpert

Noteworthy: Gardner, the 2010 runner-up, heads a list of top-10 returners that includes Krotzer (4th), Ferris senior Alex Kimsey (5th) and Smith (6th). Boersma, Wolpert and Rodri-guez finished top 15. ... Smith won the Jim Dan-ner Championship at the Nike Pre-Nationals, finishing 14 seconds ahead of Krotzer. ... Gard-ner was 2nd at Sunfair in a field with most of the top contenders. ... Eisenhower ended a 23-year run of Spokane schools as the 4A state champ, and the Lilac City is a long shot to return to the top spot this year. Only Central Valley advanced from the tough regional, with Ike and Wenatchee finishing 1st and 2nd. Also, top-ranked Gig Harbor is coming off a dominating 39-point performance at the Westside Clas-sic District 3/4 meet. However, the west side has not won a state title since Blanchet in 1986.

Class 3A

Time: 2 p.m.

2010 champions: North Central; Nathan Weitz, jr., Shadle Park (15:11.3)

Individuals to watch: Weitz; Anthony Armstrong, sr., Kamiakin; Hunter Johnson, sr., Mt. Spokane; Joe Hardy, so., Seattle Prep; John Fowler, sr., Bellevue; Izaic Yorks, sr., Lakes; Curtis King, sr., Peninsula; anyone in a North Central uniform

Local qualifiers: Kamiakin team (Armstrong; Garrett Kraal, so.; Taylor Kraal, sr.; Keegan McCormick, so.; Austin Oser, jr.; Kyle Paulson, sr.,; Austin Richards, sr.; Christian Rodriguez, jr.; Phil Snyder, sr.)

Noteworthy: This race could come down to a pair of battles between Spokane and Tri-City runners. Weitz won state last year after finishing behind Armstrong in regionals. This year, the Shadle senior won regionals, handing Armstrong his first loss of the year after wins at Tracy Walters, Sunfair and Richland. The other battle will see whether Kamiakin -- or maybe Bellevue or Seattle Prep -- can unseat five-time defending champion North Central.

Class 2A

Time: 1:30 p.m.

2010 champions: Sehome; Scott Carlyle, sr., Sehome (15:30.8)

Individuals to watch: Patrick Gibson, jr., Squalicum; Marcus Dickson, sr., White River; Sam Giner, jr., Interlake; Luke Garcia, sr., Lindbergh; Poli Baltazar, jr., Aberdeen; Daniel Amann, jr., Deer Park; Dayde Collins, sr., Deer Park; Jeffrey Ott, sr., Ellensburg

Local qualifiers: Bradley Buttars, jr., Prosser

Noteworthy: Collins (7th) and Gibson (10th) are the only top-10 returners from last season. ... Baltazar has perhaps the most impressive showing in the field, finishing 5th in the elite heat at Sunfair -- 29 seconds ahead of Dickson. Gibson, though, has won nine of 10 races this season and placed 2nd in the other. ... Sehome will go for its 3rd title in four years and the 7th consecutive championship for the Northwest Conference, with Burlington-Edison winning in 2006-07 and '09. Sehome won the 3A title in 2005 before dropping down, the last team other than North Central to wear that crown. Top-ranked Lindbergh was runner-up last year.

Class 1A

Time: Noon

2010 champions: Lakeside; Tyler King, sr., Coupeville (15:16.9)

Individuals to watch: Ruben Riordan, jr., Charles Wright; Hap Emmons, sr., King's; Stephen Bottoms, jr., Onalaska; Travis Hensley, jr., Charles Wright; David Goldstone, jr., Charles Wright; Biagio Pietroburgo, sr., Colville

Local qualifiers: Royal team (Marcos Quiroz, so.; Christian Horta, so.; Jose Jimenez, fr.; Juan Jimenez, jr.; Riley Lefler, fr.; Clifford Lester, so.; Trevor Mianecki, jr.; Jesus Peraza, jr.; Nathan Perdue, so.); Adrian Castellanos, sr., Kiona-Benton; Leo Alvarez, sr., Ki-Be; Robert Orozco, so., Connell; Kyle Brightman, sr., Ki-Be

Noteworthy: The top returners from last year are Emmons (4th), Bottoms (7th), Hensley (9th) and Goldstone (13th). ... Goldstone finished 2nd in the No. 6 flight at Sunfair, and his time of 15:55.46 would have been 14th in the elite heat. ... Riordan was 3rd at Hole in the Wall, 8 seconds ahead of Goldstone and 9 up on Hensley. ... With King graduated, the 1A race will not have a back-to-back champion for the 26th consecutive year, dating to three-time champ Robert Price of Carroll in 1985. ... Lakeside won titles in 2006, '08 and '10. It's an even year -- does that mean the top-ranked Eagles will be unseated?

Class 2B/1B

Time: 11:30 a.m.

2010 champions: Tri-Cities Prep; Justin Holden, sr., NW Christian-Lacey (16:05.9)

Individuals to watch: Lucas Graham, sr., NW Christian-Lacey; Josiah Shelman, sr., NW Christian-Lacey; Zack Speiker, sr., Oroville; Alex Ramm-Hutchinson, sr., St. George's; Austin Telford, sr., Davenport; Seth Deal, jr., Waitsburg-Prescott; Chase Teigen, sr., Asotin; Nick Lumetta, sr., Tri-Cities Prep

Local qualifiers: Deal; Tri-Cities Prep team (Lumetta; Skyler Larson, jr.; Nick Fong, sr.; Joseph Ghirardo, so.; John Hylden, jr.; Sam Leon, jr.; Adam Noorani, sr.; Kelly Smith, so.; Tommy Windisch, sr.); Bickleton team (Peter Clinton, jr.; Brandon Berk, fr.; Joshua Cummings, jr.; Kane Lowe, 8th grade; Christian Mittring, jr.; Troy Roberts, 8th grade; Michael Underwood, fr.)

Noteworthy: Six of the top 10 runners are back: Deal (4th), Graham (5th), Ryan Zeller of Davenport (6th), Lumetta (7th), Telford (8th) and Liberty-Spangle senior Cody Erickson (10th). ... Deal finished 23rd at the Richland Invite, with a time in concert with several 3A and 4A state qualifiers. ... With six of its seven runners back from last year, TC Prep is favored to repeat, having held down the top spot in the rankings from Day One. If the Jaguars repeat, they will follow NW Christian of Lacey (2008-09), St. George's (2006-07) and Reardan (2004-05).