High School Sports

Hermiston boys run to Oregon state crown

EUGENE -- The Hermiston Bulldogs placed five runners in the top 10 and cruised to the 5A state title Saturday at the Oregon cross country championships at Lane Community College in Eugene.

Javier Velasco placed third in 16 minutes, 17 seconds to top Hermiston, finishing a second behind runner-up Travis Neuman of Summit. Franklin's Ian Burgess won in 15:56.

After Velasco crossed the finish line, his teammates came pouring in: Juan Delgado in sixth, Andrew Valdez eighth and Eduardo Juarez 10th.

It added up to a 17-point win over Franklin, which had just two runners place in the top 10.

On the girls side, Katie Markwick finished fourth in 19:23, with Summit's Megan Fristoe winning in 18:37. The Bulldogs were 11th in the team standings.

In the 3A/2A/1A boys race, Umatilla's Harriman Obadiah finished 12th in 17:09.

Lane CC (5K)


Team scores--Hermiston 69, Franklin 86, Corvaillis 94, Wilsonville 104, Summit 109.

Top 5--Ian Burgess, Franklin, 15:56; Travis Neuman, Summit, 16:16; Javier Velasco, Hermiston, 16:17; Akiharu Kitagawa, Wilsonville, 16:25; Ryan Byrd, St. Helens, 16:25.

Hermiston--Velasco; 6, Juan Delgado 16:29; 8, Andrew Valdez 16:36; 10, Eduardo Juarez 16:46; 51, Jose Macias 17:37; 60, Kain Garcia 17:48; 76, Alejandro Cisneros 18:22.


Team scores--Summit 35, Mountain View 99, Crescent Valley 104, Pendleton 113, Cleveland 163; 11, Hermiston 229.

Top 5--Megan Fristoe, Summit 18:37; Taryn Rawlings, Wilsonville, 19:09; Jenna Mattox, Bend, 19:13; Katie Markwick, Hermiston, 19:23; Grace Viuhkola, Hood River Valley, 19:32.

Hermiston--Markwick; 44, Kelli Niederwerfer 21:16; 73, Gaby Villegas 22:17; 75, Jordyn Rohrman 22:28; 76, Marissa Worstell 22:35; 83, Maryanna Jimenez 22:58; 90, Abby Johnston 23:15.