Kennewick property owners to vote on irrigation district boards

KENNEWICK — Property owners in the Kennewick and Columbia irrigation districts will elect board directors next week.

The two water districts, both headquartered in Kennewick, are the only two among eight in the Mid-Columbia with vacancies going to voters.

Election notices had to be posted this week, as required by state law.

Incumbent David McKenzie on the KID board is being challenged by James Wade and Kirk Higginson.

KID has about 55,000 acres and about 22,000 customers, each of whom is allowed two votes per five acres, or portion thereof.

The Dec. 13 vote will be from 1 to 8 p.m. at KID offices, 12 W. Kennewick Ave.

Absentee voting may be done by mail, but an application must be filed with KID offices.

Community owned property, as with married couples, requires each person to cast a vote, or to have a signed application filed with KID to authorize voting for a spouse.

Both applications are available at www.kid.org.

CID incumbents James Gose and Gary Hutchcraft have Wayne Ehlers and Harry Emerson opposing them.

The CID election will be from 1 to 8 p.m. Dec. 13 at CID offices, 10 E. Kennewick Ave.

Two votes are assigned per five acres of assessed land, or portion thereof.

Community property may have votes divided equally among the owners, but when there is more than one property owner, the first to appear at the polls to vote can vote for all the owners of that parcel in the CID.

Six other irrigation districts in the Mid-Columbia have uncontested races, making it unnecessary for elections in those districts.

The Benton Irrigation District, based in Benton City, will see Robert Buoy returning unopposed for another three years, and Dirk Martin, who was appointed to a vacancy, running unopposed for the remaining year on that seat.

Jeff Clark, who has been on the Badger Mountain Irrigation District board, will continue another three-year term because no one else filed as a candidate.

Kiona Irrigation District's Randy Bricker also is unopposed and will remain on the board for three more years.

The Franklin County Irrigation District has two incumbents unchallenged. Teresa Pegram and Gary Olson will serve three more years.

The South Columbia Basin Irrigation District has Division 3 director Richard Conrad unopposed, so he will have another three-year term.

The East Columbia Basin Irrigation District's two directors, Donald Osborne for Division 1 and Bernard Erickson for Division 3, also will continue three more years.