New Franklin County officials to be sworn in

Newly elected Franklin County officials will take their oath of office today.

The ceremony begins at 9 a.m. in the historic courtroom at the Franklin County Courthouse, 1016 N. Fourth Ave., Pasco.

New elected officials expected to be sworn into office include Shawn Sant, who defeated 16-year-incumbent Steve Lowe in the race for county prosecutor.

Sant, 40, is a Tri-City lawyer who worked as a Franklin County deputy prosecutor with cases in District Court and Juvenile Court from 2004-06.

Matt Beaton, a real estate appraiser, will become auditor after defeating 21-year incumbent Zona Lenhart.

Josie Koelzer, a Basin City bookkeeper, will take over as county treasurer. She won the seat from Tiffany Coffland, who became treasurer in 2005.