Kennewick's Chavez leads soccer all-state team

June 24, 2014 

Kennewick forward Ramiro Chavez, who set the Mid-Columbia Conference single-season record with 24 goals this past season, was rewarded with a spot on the Class 3A All-State boys soccer team.

Chavez, who will play at Walla Walla Community College this fall, led the Lions to the Class 3A state playoffs for the third year in a row.

Wahluke goalkeeper Alan Caro, the SCAC player of the year, also earned a Class 1A first-team berth.

Several other players from the MCC earned a spot on the second team, including two from Hanford (3A) — defender Kelly Smith and forward Mario Zarate. Francisco Sanchez, a forward from Walla Walla, was a (4A) second-teamer, along with

Sunnyside forward Christian Chavez (3A) and Othello forward Jason Rodriguez (2A).

The following players earned a spot on the honorable mention squad: Pasco goalkeeper Jon Rosas (4A), Kennewick defender Marcos Borja (3A), Hanford midfielder Joseph Ghirardo (3A), Sunnyside defender Jacob Meza (3A) and Wahluke midfielder Ramon Bravo.

High School Boys Soccer All-State

Class 4A

MVP – Carter Johnson, Midfielder – Skyview

Coach of the Year – Dan Pingrey – Snohomish

First Team

Forwards – Uriel Herrera, Sr. Snohomish; Brandon Madsen, Sr. Thomas Jefferson; Johnny Cortez, Sr. Moses Lake; Jason Twaddle, Sr. Skyline.

Midfielders – Carter Johnson, Sr. Skyview; Brandyn Bangsund, Sr. Kentwood; Jose Fernando Sanchez, Jr. Federal Way; Connor Ourada, Sr. Ferris.

Defenders – Matt Beaulaurier, Sr. Ferris; Garrett Brewer, Sr. Federal Way; Keegan Crook, Sr., Kentwood; Dekotah Keogh Sr. Snohomish.

Goalkeeper – Jake Frederickson, Sr. Rogers.

Second Team

Forwards – Nate Beasley, Sr. Camas; Terry Cox, Jr. Ferris; Adrian Vasquez, Sr. Moses Lake; Brad Macdougall, Jr. Puyallup; Francisco Sanchez, Sr. Walla Walla.

Midfielders – Jamison Corbin, Sr. Olympia; Abdi Abdulahi, Sr. Garfield; Matt Palodichuk, Sr. Camas; Austin Cassity, Sr. Camas.

Defenders – Garrett Barber, Sr. Mount Vernon; Nick Morgan, Sr. Skyline; Ben Thompson, Sr. Lewis and Clark; Gus Baxter, Jr. Snohomish.

Goalkeeper – Ryan Peters, Sr. Snohomish; Admir Kucalovic, Sr. Kentwood.

Honorable Mention (local players only)

Goalkeeper – Jon Rosas, Sr. Pasco.

Class 3A

MVP – Wallis Lapsley, Jr. Goal Keeper – Lakeside

Coach of the Year – Mark Szabo – Lakeside

First Team

Forwards – Ramiro Chavez, Sr. Kennewick; Chris Iacolucci, Sr. Shorecrest; Gaby Joseph, Sr. Lakeside; William Economy, Sr. Bainbridge.

Midfielders – Grayden Saunders, Jr. Glacier Peak; Colton Ronk, Sr. Liberty; Jose Ramos, Sr. Foss; Francisco Mendiola-Lopez, Sr. Shelton.

Defenders – Tyler John, Sr. Bonney Lake; Justin Collins, Sr. Shorewood; Matt Johnston, Sr. Glacier Peak; Arthur McCray, Lakeside; Jake Degagne, sr. Kennedy Catholic.

Goalkeeper – Wallis Lapsley, Jr. Lakeside; Leyton Thommasen, Sr. Kennedy Catholic.

Second Team

Forwards – Laurence Wanambisi, Sr. Stanwood; Christian Chavez, Jr. Sunnyside; Mario Zarate, Sr. Hanford; Jared Berg, Mountainview.

Midfielders – Alex Day, Jr. Shorecrest; Sean Bender, Sr. Mercer Island; Dalton Ogdon, Sr. Bonney Lake; Isaac Sterver, Mountainview.

Defenders –Kelly Smith, Sr. Hanford; Mark Harris, Sr. Seattle Prep; Corey Stever, Jr. Shorecrest; Hector Cervantes, Soph. Hazen.

Goalkeeper – Robert Powles, Sr. Mt. Spokane.

Honorable Mention (local players only)

Midfielders – Joseph Ghirardo, Sr. Hanford.

Defenders – Marcos Borja, Sr. Kennewick; Jacob Meza, Sr. Sunnyside.

Class 2A

MVP – Mack Smith, Forward – Fife

Coach of the Year – Joe McAuliffe – Squalicum

First Team

Forwards – Mack Smith, Jr. Fife; Mitchell Pinney, Jr. Hockinson; Christian Thode, Sr. Archbishop Murphy; Christian Chala, Sr. Squalicum; Ian Schimandle, Sr. Cheney.

Midfielders – Brady Henderson, Soph. Archbishop Murphy; Brenan Ball, Sr. Selah; Micah Weller, Sr. Cheney; Raul DeLuna, North Kitsap; Brett Sparks, Sr. Hockinson.

Defenders – Tyler Ptacek, Sr. Archbishop Murphy; Tommy Nitchman, Kingston; Daniel Pailthorp, Sr. Capital; Kyle Morris, Sr. Ridgefield.

Goalkeeper – Oliver Sanchez, Sr. Toppenish; Jakob Racimo, Sr. Capital.

Second Team

Forwards – Nigel El-Sokkary, Soph. Capital; Utsav Shaha, North Kitsap; Edgar Garcia, Sr. Fife.

Midfielders – Trevan Esterlado, Sr Cheney; Jason Rodriguez, Sr. Othello; Adama Kante, Jr. Tyee; Tyler Hughes, Fr. Squalicum.

Defenders – Alex Hernandez, Kingston; James Bettag, Sr. Archbishop Murphy; Isaias Villa, Sr. Elllensburg; Hans Kogan, Sr. Squalicum; Obeb Camacho, Jr. Sedro-Woolley. Goalkeeper –Hector Gutierrez, Jr. Lynden.

Class 1A

MVP – Francisco Alejandrez, Forward – Quincy

Coach of the Year – Arturo Guerrero – Quincy

First Team

Forwards –Taylor Moe, Sr. King’s; Francisco Alejandrez, Soph, Quincy; Jason Perez, Sr. Okanogan.

Midfielders – Osiel Rivera, Sr. Hoquiam; Gabe Rifkin, Sr. University Prep; Ryan Fransen, Jr. King’s; Vicente Zepeda, Sr. Quincy.

Defenders – Rick Hatate, Jr. Bellevue Christian; Julio Vera, Sr. Chelan; Juan Garcia, Sr. Chelan; Pedro Reyes, Sr. Quincy.

Goalkeeper – Alan Caro, Sr. Wahluke.

Second Team

Forwards – Adair Garibay, Soph, Toledo-Winlock; Riley Brown, Jr. Bellevue Christian; Nick Iregui, Fr. Charles Wright.

Midfielders – Bennett Close, Jr. Bellevue Christian; John Polen, Sr. Seton Catholic; Will Noce-Sheldon, Jr. Seton Catholic; David Paniagua, Jr. Highland.

Defenders – Christian Pedersen, Jr. Lakeside; Josh Alexander, Jr. King’s; Barry Bishop, Jr. University Prep; Konan Katzer, Jr. Elma.

Goalkeeper – David Postma, Soph, Bellevue Christian.

Honorable Mention (local teams only)

Midfielders – Ramon Bravo, Sr. Wahluke.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service