Commission to look at national lab priorities

Tri-City HeraldMay 30, 2014 

— Members have been picked for a congressionally mandated committee to evaluate the effectiveness of the Department of Energy’s 17 national laboratories, including Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in Richland.

The commission was called for in the 2014 Consolidated Appropriations Act. It will examine the priorities of the national labs to determine if they match the broader strategic priorities of DOE.

The first of two phases of the study will be be presented by Feb. 1.

The commission will be led by Jared Cohon, president emeritus at Carnegie Mellon University and T.J. Glauthier, president of TJC Energy Associates.

Other members are Norman Augustine, former Lockheed Martin chairman; Wanda Austin, president of The Aerospace Corp.; Charles Elachi, director of the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory; Paul Fleury, Yale University professor; Susan Hockfield, president emeritus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Richard Meserve, president of the Carnegie Institution for Science, and Cherry Murray, dean of the Harvard engineering school.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service