Students named among state scholars for Class of 2014

By the Herald staffMay 19, 2014 

Students from Hanford, Chiawana and Prosser high schools were recently named among almost 200 Washington Scholars for the Class of 2014.

Seniors Evan Edrington of Chiawana High; Jonah A. Bartrand, Chenguang Li and Sathvik Ramanan of Hanford High; and Christopher Wiley of Prosser High were awarded the honor. Fellow seniors Kayden Maugham of Chiawana High and Lucy Wang of Hanford High were named alternates.

Three scholars and one alternate are named for each of the state's 49 legislative districts each year.

Students are nominated by their principals and must be graduating and enrolled at a Washington college or university before graduation. Final selections are made by a committee of principals and college administrators.

"Washington Scholars exemplify the best in student academic performance, commitment to rigorous standards and personal accountability," Gene Sharratt, executive director of the Washington Student Achievement Council, said in a news release.

State lawmakers have not set aside money for any newly named scholars to receive any monetary awards, the council's website said.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service