Updated: Richland boys take MCC golf title (w/photo gallery)

May 7, 2014 

Richland came away a double winner from Wednesday’s final Mid-Columbia Conference boys pod match at Sun Willows Golf Course.

First, Drew Mccullough shot a 1-under-par 71 to tie Bomber teammate Hunter Ashby for medalist honors and secure his hold on first place in the season standings.

Second, the Bombers made a clean sweep of the team competitions and lock up the season title.

McCullough came into the day just ahead of Hanford’s Eric Dahl, who shot a 72 to finish third. The Falcons finished second to Richland on the day and for the season.

At Sun Willows Golf Course (par 72)

Team scores—Richland 294, Hanford 312, Walla Walla 318, Southridge 327, Kennewick 328, Kamiakin 329, Chiawana 348, Pasco 446. Top 3—Drew McCullough, Richland, 71; Hunter Ashby, Richland, 71; Eric Dahl, Hanford 72. Richland—Quinton Parnell 76, Carl Underwood 76, Evan Hattori 79, Andrew Hattori 81. Hanford—Thomas Hannu 77, Ryan Ray 79, Jack Inions 84, Sam Workman 87, Tom Hill 96. Walla Walla—Tyler Morrison 75, Ely Kimball 79, Troy Aguilar 81, Nate Towner 83, Parker Dresler 85, Evan Jamison 99. Southridge—Garrett Neswick 75, Austin Brown 82, Ryan Thomas 83, Larson Watla 87, Wylie Jenne 92. Kennewick—Cedric Hines 78, Jenner Beauchamp 81, Sam Szendre 84, Riely Deathridge 85, Grey Judy 90, Tristan Thomas 99. Kamiakin—Bolton Dauenhauer 74, Shae Gurney 82, Ike Wilbur 84, Max Massey 89, Trevor Roberts 95, Kaulin Everham 96. Chiawana—Levi Dronen 84, Hayden Carrasco 85, Collin Rodriguez 89, Titan Greer 90, David Manthei 91, Chandler Newell 101. Pasco—Ryan Rickman 89, Nate Chavez 111, Matthew Davis 121, Jordon Brown 125, Stu Willhoite 132.

MCC Girls

Pasco sophomore Jalayne Martinez shot a 77 to take medalist honors at the Mid-Columbia Conference pod at Sun Willows in Pasco.

Teammate Neydeen Martinez and Hanford’s Lacy Skwarek were one stroke behind with a 78, helping the Bulldogs to a second-place finish behind Southridge with 346 points.

The Suns, led by Catherine Warner’s 79, finished with 341 points. It is the third time this season Southridge has won a pod (Veterans Memorial and Horn Rapids).

Neydeen Martinez had a two-stroke lead after nine holes, but she faltered on the back end, where Jalayne Martinez shot a 37 to move out front.

Sun Willows (par 72)

Team scores—Southridge 341, Pasco 346, Kamiakin 348, Hanford 354, Walla Walla 366, Richland 403, Chiawana 455, Kennewick INC. Top 3—Jalayne Martinez (P) 77, Lacy Skwarek (H) 78, Neydeen Martinez (P) 78. Southridge—Catherine Warner 79, Taylor Hood 85, Meredith Hibbard 88, Sydney Meilleur 89. Pasco—Kayla Olson 89, Elizabeth Greenaway 102. Kamiakin—Mia Johnson 81, Brianna Esvelt 86, Alexa Clark 88, Britney Gough 93. Hanford—Michelle Troupe 88, Bev McCarthy 92, Amy Aiello 96. Walla Walla—Jessica Huntsman 83, Kendall Dunovant 87, Marisa Jimenez 91, Brooke Cramer 105. Richland—Kea Robertson 90, Bella Martinez 101, Breanna Watts 102, Reagan Mercer 110. Chiawana—Megan Steach 88, Kendall Rodriguez 113, Danika Pink 117McKinley Powers 137. Kennewick—Allison Kadinger 79, Taiya Holland 105, Taylor Hendrickson 136.

CWAC GIRLS: Prosser’s Zoe Wilson shot a 121 to pace the Mustangs at a CWAC match at Block Rock Creek.

Ephrata’s Kendall Sage won medalist honors with an 88, and helped the Tigers to the team title with 387 points.

Black Rock Creek (par 72)

Team scores—Ephrata 387, Selah 432, Prosser 538. Top 3—Kendall Sage (E) 88, Katie Hilliard (E) 93, Tori Upson (S) 97. Prosser—Zoe Wilson 121, Lara Contreras 125, Kassiday Burnett 141, Rylie Burnett 151.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service