School Retirees Association awards scholarships

By the Tri-City HeraldMay 2, 2014 

The Benton-Franklin School Retirees Association presented several scholarships at a meeting this week.

Several years ago, a group of members said the best way to ensure quality educators was to "grow our own teachers."

Since that time, the association has awarded many scholarships to graduating high school students who plan to pursue education careers.

Recipients are:

-- Gianna Nino-Tapio, a senior at Southridge High School, is considering enrollment at Oregon State University with a dual major in education and health. She received a $1,000 scholarship.

-- Courtney Lybbert of Southridge High plans to major in elementary education and minor in child development. Her goal is teaching grades K-4. She received a $1,000 scholarship.

-- Neydeen Martinez is a Pasco High Running Start student who plans to transfer to Eastern Washington University to pursue an elementary education major and Spanish minor. She received a $1,000 BFSRA scholarship.

-- Madeline Serrano, a Pasco High senior, is planning to teach kindergarten after attending Eastern Washington University as an early childhood major. She received a $1,000 BFSRA scholarship and a Washington State School Retirees Association Foundation $1,500 scholarship.

-- Kaitlynn Kleinbach of Connell High School is planning to attend Whitworth University as an early elementary education major. She received a $900 Robert J. Handy Scholarship, sponsored by PEMCO, that is renewable for four years, for a total of $3,600.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service