All-state football: Chiawana places 5 on first team

December 19, 2013 


Federal Way's Chico McClatcher, left, is unable to stop Chiawana's Deion Singleton after Singleton made a catch on Saturday, Nov. 30, as Chiawana defeated Federal Way 40-7 in a semifinal matchup at Edgar Brown Stadium in Pasco.

KAI-HUEI YAU — Tri-City Herald Buy Photo

Winning the Class 4A state title certainly helped the Chiawana players pick up some individual accolades Thursday.

Running back Clifton Lozano, wide receiver/defensive back Deion Singleton, offensive lineman Chandler Newell, defensive lineman Mark DeRuyter and linebacker Alex Weber were all named to The Associated Press Class 4A All-State team.

The Riverhawks won the state title, defeating Camas 27-26 on Dec. 7, scoring two touchdowns in the final 55 seconds.

Quarterback Joey Zamora and offensive lineman Kayden Maughan were named to the second team.

Bellevue star Budda Baker was named the overall player of the year.

In Class 3A, Kamiakin running back Umid Ramizov was named to the first team, while offensive/defensive lineman Dylan Keech and linebacker Tyler Herman were named to the second team.

The Braves reached the quarterfinals before falling to Shadle Park.

In Class 2A, Prosser quarterback Mason Schutt and wide receiver Cardell Jones were first team selections. The Mustangs reached the state semifinals this season, before falling to Tumwater. Defensive back Ethan Hibbs made the second team.

In Class 1A, Connell defensive lineman Gage Taylor and linebacker Gunner Vanderbilt made the second team. The Eagles advanced to the quarterfinals where they lost to eventual state champion Freeman.

In Class 2B, Lind-Ritzville/Sprague quarterback and defensive back Dylan Hartz was named the player of the year. He was joined on the first team by running back Connor O'Neill, wide receiver Ryan Whitmore, offensive linemen Jarradd Morley and Tyler Ferderick, linebacker Colin Sheffels and punter Cort Ruzicka.

The Broncos won a second consecutive state title, knocking off Morton-White Pass 7-0.

Also making the Class 2B first team was Waitsburg-Prescott defensive back Talen Larsen and place kicker Antonio Benito.

The Cardinals were represented by wide receiver Devon Acevedo and offensive lineman Nate Bartlow on the second team, while Tri-Cities Prep saw offensive lineman Alex Siekawitch and defensive back Michael Forbes make the second team.

DeSales defensive lineman Matt Jubb and defensive back Isaiah Scheel also made second team.

In Class 1B, Touchet's second-place run was rewarded with wide receiver Ruben Butler, defensive lineman Colton Goble and linebacker Colter McKeown all making the first team.

Offensive lineman Ivan Hernandez and defensive back Elias Martinez made the second team.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service