Walla Walla Sweets have 9 in WCL all-star game

July 15, 2013 

The Walla Walla Sweets will have nine players, including Southridge High graduate Matt Mendenhall, in the West Coast League All-Star Game, set for July 23 at Royal Athletic Park in Victoria, British Columbia.

Wenatchee AppleSox coach Ed Knaggs will lead the South Division while Victoria HarbourCats coach Dennis Rogers will lead the North Division.

The Sweets, playing for the North team, had the most players of any team selected, six of them being pitchers.

The second most represented team, the Bend Elks, has seven players selected in the South Division. Players were picked by fan voting, recommendations from Major League scouts and voting by league coaches.

There will be an All-Star Game Kickoff Event on July 22, where Victoria will welcome Hall of Fame general manager Pat Gillick as a speaker.

North Division Team Roster

1st Base: Eric Angerer, Bellingham (Cal State Chico); Matt Mendenhall, Walla Walla (Washington State); Connor Spencer, Wenatchee (UC Irvine).

2nd Base: Ryan Yamane, Bellingham (University of Northern Colorado).

3rd Base: Alex Calbick, Bellingham (University of Maine).

Shortsop: Alex DeGoti, Victoria (Long Beach State).

Catcher: Nolan Johnson, Kelowna (Minnesota State); Renae Martinez, Walla Walla (UC Irvine).

Outfield: Grayson Porter, Kelowna (Baylor University); Darren Kolk, Kelowna (Vancouver Island University); Austin Russell, Victoria (Southern Polytechnic State); Kramer Lindell, Walla Walla (Linfield College); Brett Stephens, Wenatchee (UCLA).

Pitchers: Nate Cole, Bellingham (Abilene Christian University); Marc Huberman, Bellingham (USC); Scott Kuzminsky, Victoria (University of Hawaii); Ty Provencher, Victoria (Long Beach State); Sean-Luke Brija, Walla Walla (Gonzaga); Matt Hall, Walla Walla (Missouri State); Bret Helton, Walla Walla (University of Utah); Chris Lovejoy, Walla Walla (Ball State); Cody Poteet, Walla Walla (UCLA); Sean Silva, Walla Walla (USC); Trevor Lubking, Wenatchee (Pacific Lutheran).

South Division Team Roster

1st Base: Derek Dixon, Bend (George Fox University); Kevin Davidson, Medford (UC Riverside).

2nd Base: Seth Spivey, Bend (Abilene Christian University).

3rd Base: Cody Lenahan, Corvallis (University of Portland)

Shortstop: Danny Sheehan, Kitsap (San Diego State).

Catcher: Dane Lund, Corvallis (San Jose State); Alex McKeon, Kitsap (Texas A International University).

Outfield: Chase Fields, Bend (Seattle University); Turner Gill, Bend (University of Portland); Blake Drake, Corvallis (Concordia University); Kyle Knigge, Cowlitz (Lewis-Clark State); Nick Fisher, Klamath Falls (Linfield College); Cody Hough, Klamath Falls (UC Riverside).

Pitchers: Clay Gartner, Bend (George Fox University); David Murillo, Bend (Lewis Clark State); Hunter Raley, Bend (Murray State College); Devon Barker, Corvallis (Central Washington University); Brandon Choate, Corvallis (Tacoma CC); Zach Wilkins, Cowlitz (Palomar College); Spencer Watkins, Kitsap (Western Oregon University); Brandon Horth, Klamath Falls (Loyola Marymount); Nick Sabo, Klamath Falls (Long Beach State); Bret DeRooy, Medford (Washington State); Justin Jacome, Medford (UCSB).

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service