Memorial Cup preview

May 15, 2013 

The 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup tournament kicks off Friday in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

The CHL’s championship tournament, which wraps up with the championship game May 26th, features four teams – the host Saskatoon Blades, the OHL champion London Knights, the WHL champion Portland Winterhawks and the QMJHL champion Halifax Mooseheads – who will battle for the storied Memorial Cup trophy.

The tournament format sees each team play one another in a round-robin format. The team with the best record after the round-robin advances directly to the championship game, while the second and third-placed teams play a semi-final game to determine the other tournament finalist. If there is a tie for third place after the round-robin, a tiebreaker game will be played to determine the second semi-finalist.

Here’s a look at the four teams who will be vying for the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service