Many incumbents sign up for office first day of filing week

Tri-City HeraldMay 13, 2013 

Editor's note: Corrected to remove incorrect filing information about Judge Dennis Sweeney./i>

Mostly incumbents took advantage of the start of election season Monday, the first day of candidate filing in Benton and Franklin counties.

The filing period ends Friday.

All the races will require a primary election if more than two candidates file for a position. If three or more people file, a primary will take place Aug. 6 with the top two vote-getters advancing to the Nov. 5 general election.

Here are the highlights from the first day of filing:


State Sen. Sharon Brown, R-Kennewick, was the only candidate to file Monday in District 8. She is running to fill out the second year of her term after Benton County commissioners appointed her to replace Jerome Delvin after he was elected to the county commission. The race is the only partisan race on the ballot.


After being appointed by Gov. Jay Inslee last week, Judge Sal Mendoza must run to fill the remainder of Judge Craig Matheson's four-year term on the Benton-Franklin Superior Court bench.


Incumbent Kennewick City Councilman Don Britain is seeking re-election.

Kennewick School Board incumbents Heather Kintzley and Dawn Adams filed for new four-year terms, while Kennewick Public Hospital District board members Wanda Briggs and Rick Reil also seek re-election.


Pasco councilmen Mike Garrison, Bob Hoffman, Saul Martinez and Tom Larsen all filed Monday.

On the Pasco School Board, all three incumbents up for re-election filed for new four-year terms on the first day. They are: William Leggett, Sherry Lancon and Darrell L. Toombs Jr.


On the Richland City Council, incumbents Bob Thompson, Sandra Kent and David Rose are seeking new four-year terms, as are Richland School Board members Heather Cleary and Rick Jansons.


Incumbent Morgan Everett was the only Prosser city councilman to file Monday. Bill Jenkin filed to run for the Prosser School Board position now held by Win Taylor.

On the Prosser Public Hospital District Board, incumbents Glenn M. Bestebreur and Stephen Kenny filed.

Benton City

Two newcomers filed Monday for the Kiona-Benton City School Board. Leslie Johnson filed to run for the seat now held by Jill Renz-Whitman, while Wade Haun will try for incumbent Dan Raap's seat. Charles T. Gray was the only incumbent to file.

Incumbent city Councilwoman Mary Lattau was the only person who filed for re-election on the Benton City Council.


Leo Bowman, former Benton County commissioner, was the only person to throw his hat into the ring on the first day of Port of Kennewick filing. He filed for the seat held by Gene Wagner.

Incumbent Roy Keck is seeking re-election to the Port of Benton Commission.

On the Port of Pasco Commission, incumbent Jean Ryckman will be challenged by Herb Brayton.

-- For more information about filing, go to or

-- Geoff Folsom: 509-582-1543;; Twitter: @GeoffFolsom

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service