Hockey: Americans shut out of WHL awards

May 1, 2013 

The Western Hockey League handed out its annual awards Wednesday, but the Tri-City Americans came up empty as Justin Feser and Mitch Topping were runners-up in their respective categories.

“It’s an honor to be nominated and that’s important to remember,” said Tri-City general manger Bob Tory, who was in Calgary, Alberta, for the awards ceremony. “Our players realize that the journey and doing the job on and off the ice is more important than awards.”

Feser, the Western Conference’s nominee for the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy as the WHL Player of the Year, finished second to Adam Lowry of the Swift Current Broncos.

Lowry, the first Swift Current player to win the award since Sergei Varlamov in 1998, had 45 goals and 43 assists (88 points) in 72 games. He finished 12th in WHL scoring, had a plus-18 rating and 102 penalty minutes.

Lowry, a native of Calgary, had a season-best 21-game point streak and was the WHL Player of the Month for December. H also was an Eastern Conference first-team All-Star.

Feser, from Red Deer, Alberta, was hoping to follow in the footsteps of former teammate Brendan Shinnimin, who won the Four Broncos last year.

Feser finished fourth in league scoring with 106 points (44 goals, 62 assists), a plus-20 rating, 57 penalty minutes and had a hand in 43 percent of the Americans’ scoring.

He was most effective in the second half of the season with 25 goals and 42 assists, holding the team together after starting goalie Eric Comrie was lost to a season-ending hip injury.

Feser, who set the WHL Iron Man record at 321 consecutive games, also was a first-team Western Conference All-Star.

Topping, who was nominated for Humanitarian of the Year, finished second to Cody Sylvester of the Calgary Hitmen.

Sylvester, from Vernon, British Columbia, established the Chance to Play program that helped raise funds ($17,312) to support local minor hockey.

“I’ve had the opportunity to play hockey all my life and wanted to do something in my final year to give back to the Calgary community and the people who have supported me during my time with the Hitmen,” Sylvester said in a news release. “Chance To Play will provide kids, who may not otherwise have the opportunity, with the experience of playing hockey so they can have the chance to follow their dreams like I did.”

Topping, from Red Deer, has been involved in many charitable organizations in the Tri-Cities, including Habitat for Humanity, school reading programs, working with animals at the Humane Society, helping area youth learn to skate and play hockey, hospital visits, signing events, Salvation Army Kettle Drive and Special Olympics.

Topping and Feser also formed Making Awareness a Top Priority to Fes Out Muscular Dystrophy. Their efforts raised $14,656 for MDA. Their original goal was $2,500.

“We appreciate their attitude and their effort whether they are recognized or not,” Tory said of his players.

The Eastern Conference swept all but two of the awards — Top Rookie went to Portland’s Seth Jones, while Spokane’s Brenden Kichton was named Top Defenseman.

Tory will remain in Calgary for today’s WHL bantam draft. The Americans pick 15th overall in the first round.

“It’s hard to know who will be available,” Tory said. “We will try and add quality players to our program and get them signed. We ask a lot of our players and it’s not for everyone.”

The WHL Award Winners

WHL Player of the Year, Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Adam Lowry (Calgary, Alberta), Swift Current Broncos

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Seth Jones (Plano, Texas), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, Czech Republic), Red Deer Rebels

WHL Defenseman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, Alberta), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), Edmonton Oil Kings

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Josh Morrissey (Calgary, Alberta), Prince Albert Raiders

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Ryan McGill, Kootenay Ice

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Cody Sylvester (Vernon, British Columbia), Calgary Hitmen

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Kamloops Blazers

WHL Scholastic Team of the Year

Portland Winterhawks

WHL Top Official, Allen Paradice Memorial Trophy

Nathan Wieler

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service