AMERICANS: Feser named as a West all-star

Tri-City HeraldMarch 21, 2013 

Tri-City Americans captain Justin Feser was named to the Western Conference first team Thursday, joining Portland forward Nic Petan and Kamloops’ Colin Smith. Brenden Kichton of Spokane and Seth Jones of Portland are the defensemen, while Portland’s Mac Carruth was named the top goalie.

Feser finished the regular season playing 321 consecutive games. He took over the WHL Iron title March 1. Feser finished tied for fourth in WHL scoring with 106 points, including 44 goals. He also had a plus-20 rating and 57 penalty minutes.

“He deserves that,” Americans coach Jim Hiller said of Feser’s award. “He’s been great for five years. Maybe he’s been overshadowed a little bit. This year, people got a good understanding of how good he is. I’ve talked to other coaches around the league and they have such great respect for Fes and what he’s done. When people talk about our team, outside of our team, they talk about Fes.”

Topping, in his second year with the Americans, has been involved in many charitable organizations, including Habitat for Humanity, school reading programs, working with animals at the Humane Society, helping area youth learn to skate and play hockey, hospital visits, signing events, Salvation Army Kettle Drive and Special Olympics.

Topping and Feser also formed Making Awareness a Top Priority to Fes Out Muscular Dystrophy.

Their efforts raised more than $14,656 for MDA. Their original goal was $2,500.

“That’s pretty crazy. We didn’t think it would blow up that much,” Topping said of their MDA fundraiser. “It’s a huge honor to be put up against (Cody) Sylvester (Calgary Hitmen). To be selected from so many players from so many teams is special.”

Feser is the 17th Tri-City player to earn first-team honors, joining the likes of Daymond Langkow (1995), Scott Gomez (1999), Carey Price (2007), Colton Yellow Horn (2008) and Brendan Shinnimin (2012).

Taylor Procyshen (2009) is the only Americans player to win the Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy as WHL Humanitarian of the Year.



Goaltender — Mac Carruth (Shorewood, Minn.), Portland Winterhawks. Defensemen — Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, Alberta), Spokane Chiefs and Seth Jones (Plano, Texas), Portland Winterhawks. Forwards — Colin Smith (Edmonton, Alberta), Kamloops Blazers, Justin Feser (Red Deer, Alberta), Tri-City Americans and Nic Petan (Delta, British Columbia), Portland Winterhawks.


Goaltender — Jordon Cooke (Leduc, Alberta), Kelowna Rockets. Defensemen — Troy Rutkowski (Edmonton, Alberta), Portland Winterhawks and Tyler Wotherspoon (Surrey, British Columbia), Portland Winterhawks. Forwards — Brendan Leipsic (Winnipeg, Manitoba), Portland Winterhawks, Ty Rattie (Airdrie, Alberta), Portland Winterhawks and Myles Bell (Calgary, Alberta), Kelowna Rockets.

The WHL Finalists

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference — Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders

Western Conference — Seth Jones (Plano, Texas), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Eastern Conference — Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, Czech Republic), Red Deer Rebels

Western Conference — Mac Carruth (Shorewood, Minn.), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Defenseman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference — Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, British Columbia), Moose Jaw Warriors

Western Conference — Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, Alberta), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Eastern Conference — Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), Edmonton Oil Kings

Western Conference — Zach Franko (Winnipeg, Manitoba), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference — Josh Morrissey (Calgary, Alberta), Prince Albert Raiders

Western Conference — Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference — Ryan McGill, Kootenay Ice

Western Conference — Ryan Huska, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference — Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

Western Conference — Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference — Cody Sylvester (Vernon , British Columbia), Calgary Hitmen

Western Conference — Mitch Topping (Red Deer, Alberta), Tri-City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Eastern Conference — Saskatoon Blades

Western Conference — Kamloops Blazers

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service