Americans Feser and Topping earn Western Conference honors

March 21, 2013 

Tri-City Americans captain Justin Feser was named to the Western Conference first team Thursday, joining Portland forward Nic Petan and Kamloops' Colin Smith. Brenden Kichton of Spokane and Seth Jones of Portland are the defensemen, while Portland's Mac Carruth was named the top goalie.

Feser finished the regular season playing 321 consecutive games. He took over the WHL Iron title March 1. Feser finished tied for fourth in WHL scoring with 106 points, including 44 goals.

Topping, in his second year with the Americans, has been involved in many charitable organizations, including Habitat for Humanity, school reading programs, working with animals at the Humane Society and helping area youth learn to skate and play hockey. He and Feser also formed Making Awareness a Top Priority to Fes Out Muscular Dystrophy.

Their efforts raised more than $14,656 for MDA. Their original goal was $2,500.



Goaltender – Mac Carruth (Shorewood, MN), Portland Winterhawks

Defenseman – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

Defenseman – Seth Jones (Plano, TX), Portland Winterhawks

Forward – Colin Smith (Edmonton, AB), Kamloops Blazers

Forward – Justin Feser (Red Deer, AB), Tri-City Americans

Forward – Nicolas Petan (Delta, BC), Portland Winterhawks


Goaltender – Jordon Cooke (Leduc, AB), Kelowna Rockets

Defenseman – Troy Rutkowski (Edmonton, AB), Portland Winterhawks

Defenseman – Tyler Wotherspoon (Surrey, BC), Portland Winterhawks

Forward – Brendan Leipsic (Winnipeg, MB), Portland Winterhawks

Forward – Ty Rattie (Airdrie, AB), Portland Winterhawks

Forward – Myles Bell (Calgary, AB), Kelowna Rockets

The WHL announced the Finalists in the following categories.

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders

Western Conference – Seth Jones (Plano, TX), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Eastern Conference – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels

Western Conference – Mac Carruth (Shorewood, MN), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors

Western Conference – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Eastern Conference – Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, SK), Edmonton Oil Kings

Western Conference – Zach Franko (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders

Western Conference – Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon, SK), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Ryan McGill, Kootenay Ice

Western Conference – Ryan Huska, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

Western Conference – Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Cody Sylvester (Vernon , BC), Calgary Hitmen

Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB), Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Eastern Conference – Saskatoon Blades

Western Conference – Kamloops Blazers

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service