Tri-City teams ready for Media Classic

March 12, 2013 

The high school basketball season officially ended March 2 with the state tournaments.

Unofficially, however, the season still is on with the 20th annual Media Classic, set for Sunday at Pasco High School.

The Classic consists of two games — a boys all-star game and girls all-star game, featuring the top players from the Tri-City Herald readership area against the top players from the Yakima Herald-Republic region.

The girls game is set for 2 p.m., while the boys contest tips off at 4:30 p.m. Tickets for the event are $5, and children ages 5 and under are admitted free.

Proceeds from the event will go to the Boys and Girls Club of Benton and Franklin Counties, and the YMCA of the Greater Tri-Cities.

The Tri-City girls will hold a practice at 5 p.m. today at Columbia Basin College. The team will be coached by CBC coach Cheryl Holden.

The Tri-City boys, to be coached by CBC’s Rolando Garcia, will hold a practice at the CBC gym at 5:30 p.m. Thursday.

The first Media Classic was held in 1994 and was called the Newspaper Classic. It was played at Eisenhower High School in Yakima. The Tri-Cities teams won both contests.

For four years beginning in 2000, the series was expanded to two boys games and two girls games — pitting big-school players against each other, as well as small-school players competing against one another.

In 2004, the series went back to just one boys and one girls game, but the rosters were expanded to 15 players and quarters moved to 12 minutes.

The Tri-City boys have won the last two years, but Yakima’s boys lead the overall series 18-5.

The Tri-City girls have won five consecutive years and lead the overall series 15-8.

Tri-City girls: Kennedy Corrigan, Richland; Madi Doepker, Walla Walla; Kody Easterday, Connell; Mikayla Ferenz, Walla Walla; Colette Gall, Hanford; Bianca Gonzales, Chiawana; Delaney Hodgins, Chiawana; Harley McBride, Columbia-Burbank; Courtney Nelson, Kamiakin; Britney Pringle, Richland; Melissa Rodriguez, Pasco; Lindsey Schauble, Kamiakin; Bailey Schroeder, Kiona-Benton; Panisesi Taimani, Kennewick; Sira Toure, Kamiakin. Coach — Cheryl Holden, CBC.

Yakima girls: Vanessa Alvarez, Sunnyside; Marissa Caballero, Grandview; Briana Cordova, Wapato; Darian Gasseling, Wapato; Alexis Gratton, Davis; Ashley Gray, West Valley-Yakima; Cierra Juarez, Davis; Sydney Mercer, Prosser; Lyndsay Oswalt, Granger; Payton Parrish, Grandview; Alexis Perez, Davis; Jordan Rodriguez, Sunnyside; Stormee Van Belle, Sunnyside Christian; Monica Villegas, Zillah; Kailee Wood, Selah. Coach — Greg Oldham, YVC.

Tri-City boys: Cristian Aguilar, Kiona-Benton; Terran Brown, River View; Cooper Clyde, Kamiakin; Joe Douglas, Hanford; Julian Figueroa, Pasco; Wesley Henderson, Chiawana; Mason Hilty, Richland; Austin Molt, Southridge; Mitchel Mueller, Kennewick; Mick Phelps, Kiona-Benton; Payton Radliff, Richland; Kylle Robertson, Kamiakin; Chris Ryckman, Columbia-Burbank; Nate Streufert, Richland; Jalen Watson, Hanford. Coach — Rolando Garcia, CBC.

Yakima boys: Brandon Broersma, Sunnyside Christian; Esau Cervantes, Granger; Shawn Craig, Wapato; Drew Dyer, Selah; Garrett Hull, Ellensburg; Max Jones, Davis; Nikhil Lizotte, Davis; Jalen Peake, West Valley-Yakima; Isaiah Ruiz, Grandview; Trey Serl, Sunnyside; Andy Soto, Eisenhower; Austin Strock, West Valley-Yakima; Carlos Vijarro, Davis; Cameron Walker, Naches Valley; Brady Widner, Zillah. Coach — Ray Funk, YVC.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service