Hermiston wins 4 titles, reclaims 5A glory

TRI-CITY HERALDFebruary 24, 2013 

A year removed from having their five-year run as Class 5A state champs disrupted by Dallas, the Hermiston Bulldogs were back at the front of the pack Saturday.

The Bulldogs won four individual titles and three second-place finishes to breeze to the team championship with 246 points, unseating the defending champs by 641/2 points.

Hermiston had its sixth state title in seven years well in hand long before the championship matches started, leading defending champ Dallas by 51 points and with seven in the finals compared to five for the Dragons.

Junior Tyler Berger stayed on course to become Hermiston's second four-time champion in three years, claiming his third championship with a first-period pin of Dallas' Gunner Wyatt at 138 pounds.

Berger rolled through the bracket with three first-period pins and a technical fall.

Senior Abraham Rodriguez went back-to-back at 160 with a technical fall over Dallas' Scotty Dunagan in the final.

Senior Beau Gleed, a three-time placer for Moses Lake, won the 132 championship with a 5-2 victory over Izaak Tobin of Silverton.

Samuel Shields-Colbray completed a marvelous freshman season with a 7-2 win over Mason Montgomery of Ashland for the 195 crown.

Freshman Andy Wagner, who knocked off the top-ranked kid at 106 in the semifinals, finished second after a 9-8 loss to Dallas junior Cody Bibler. Wagner trailed 7-2 in the second period before staging a fierce comeback.

Junior Isaac Aguilar placed second at 120 after a 3-1 loss to Thaddeus Nelson of Marshfield in the final.

Another junior, Armando Garcia, finished second at 285 after losing 3-2 in overtime to Semise Kofe of Roosevelt. All four of Garcia's matches were within three points, including three decided by a single point.

The Bulldogs finished with 12 placers, including junior AJ Garcia (fifth at 113), junior Wyatt Scribner (third at 126), senior Alec St. Hilaire (sixth at 170), junior Caleb Batease (fifth at 220) and senior Jacob Batease (third at 285).

Meanwhile, Riverside took a bit of a tumble on the second day after finishing the first in third place. The Pirates managed to get just two of their seven semifinalists into the finals, and both of those beat teammates to advance.

Still, they climbed back to third behind two individual champs, though Riverside's 1211/2 points were well behind first-place Glide (205) and second-place Willamina (180).

Senior Gustavo Madrigal pinned freshman teammate Charlie Torres in 5:37 in the 106 semifinals before pinning Warrenton's Rogue Bergerson at 4:49 to claim his first state title.

Hans Rockwell, who won the title at 106 as a freshman, pinned junior Gilberto Silva in 4:42 before making it 2-for-2 with a late pin of Willamina's Michael Reyes in the 113 final.

Torres went on to finish fourth, while Silva was sixth. Also placing for Riverside were senior Martin Herrera (sixth at 138), junior Mario Sepulveda (fifth at 145) and senior Daniel Puerta (fourth at 182).

In the 2A/1A ranks, Irrigon senior Andy Aguilera won the crown at 152 with a 14-6 victory over Austin McNichols of Lowell. Aguilera's toughest match came in the semifinals, a 6-4 win over Derek Carl of Gold Beach.

The Knights' other state entry, senior Jamie Thomas, finished third at 182. Despite bringing just two wrestlers to state, Irrigon finished 10th in the team standings.

At Memorial Coliseum, Portland

Class 5A

Team scores (top 5): Hermiston 246, Dallas 181.5, Redmond 167.5, Sandy 96, Eagle Point 89.


106--Andy Wagner (Herm) d. Derick Tollen (Churchill) 10-7. 113--J.T. Ayers (Mountain View) d. AJ Garcia (Herm) 11-5. 120--Isaac Aguilar (Herm) m.d. Charlie Vandetta (Lebanon) 12-2. 132--Beau Gleed (Herm) d. Brandon Mowery (Sandy) 9-2. 138--Tyler Berger (Herm) t.f. Austin Kleint (Lebanon) 5:23. 160--Abraham Rodriguez (Herm) m.d. Tanner Barichio (Redmond) 14-5. 195--Sam Shields-Colbray (Herm) p. Ryan Jurgens (Sherwood) 3:55. 220--Sumner Saulsbury (Redmond) p. Caleb Batease (Herm) :53. 285--Armando Garcia (Herm) d. Jalean Webb (Jefferson) 2-1; Semise Kofe (Roosevelt) d. Jacob Batease (Herm) 5-1.

Consolation third round

126--Wyatt Scribner (Herm) d. Levi Pomeroy (Eagle Point) 4-0. 170--Alec St. Hilarie (Herm) p. Brock Lash (Redmond) 3:48.

Consolation semifinals

113--Jasiah Williams (Franklin) d. AJ Garcia (Herm) 3-2. 126--Wyatt Scribner (Herm) m.d. Brandon Short (Redmond) 11-2. 170--Haszell West (Jefferson) d. Alec St. Hilaire (Herm) 16-14. 220--Cody Eisenberg (Ashland) d. Caleb Batease (Herm) 4-2. 285--Jacob Batease (Herm) p. Juan Ocampo (Liberty) 1:59.


106--Cody Bibler (Dallas) d. Andy Wagner (Herm) 9-8. 120--Thaddeus Nelson (Marshfield) d. Isaac Aguilar (Herm) 3-1. 132--Beau Gleed (Herm) d. Izaak Tobin (Silverton) 5-2. 138--Tyler Berger (Herm) p. Gunner Wyatt (Dallas) 1:36. 160--Abraham Rodriguez (Herm) t.f. Scott Dunagan (Dallas) 5:23. 195--Sam Shields-Colbray (Herm) d. Mason Montgomery (Ashland) 7-2. 285--Semise Kofe (Roosevelt) d. Armando Garcia (Herm) 3-2 OT.


126--Wyatt Scribner (Herm) d. Kaleb Winbarger (Mountain View) 2-0 (OT). 285--Jacob Batease (Herm) p. Jacob Breitling (Redmond) 4:55.


113--AJ Garcia (Herm) d. Jorrin Ishihara (Churchill) 4-2. 170--Joaquin Reyes (Summit) d. Alec St. Hilaire (Herm) 7-0. 220--Caleb Batease (Herm) d. Riley Sipe (Dallas) 4-3 OT.

Class 3A

Team scores (top 5): Glide 205, Willamina 180, Riverside 121.5, Nyssa 117, Vale 114.


106--Gustavo Madrigal (Riv) p. Charlie Torres (Riv) 5:37. 113--Hans Rockwell (Riv) p. Gilberto Silva (Riv) 4:42. 138--Walker Damewood (Glide) p. Martin Herrera (Riv) 3:06. 145--Garret Short (Glide) d. Mario Sepulveda (Riv) 2-1. 182--Ricky Diaz (Gervais) d. Daniel Puerta (Riv) 5-2.

Consolation second round

126--Tyler Martin (Jefferson) p. Clay Miller (Riv) 4:55.

Consolation semifinals

106--Charlie Torres (Riv) p. Jordan Combs (Willamina) 4:05. 113--Kevin Munoz (Vale) d. Gilberto Silva (Riv) 4-1. 138--Alex Holland (Glide) p. Martin Herrera (Riv) 4:41. 145--Logan Miller (Illinois Valley) p. Mario Sepulveda (Riv) 1:00. 182--Daniel Puerta (Riv) d. Riley Hills (Santiam Christian) 10-8 OT.


106--Gustavo Madrigal (Riv) p. Rogue Bergerson (Warrenton) 4:49. 113--Hans Rockwell (Riv) p. Michael Reyes (Willamina) 5:53..


106--Jerry Mealey (Corbett) p. Charlie Torres (Riv) 3:03. 182--Andrew Smith (Rogue River) d. Daniel Puerta (Riv) 4-3.


113--Mateo Bias (Pleasant Hill) p. Gilberto Silva (Riv) 2:18. 138--Shane Bearden (Harrisburg) p. Martin Herrera (Riv) 4:44. 145--Mario Sepulveda (Riv) m.d. Josh Hendrickson (Harrisburg) 12-4.

Class 1A

Team scores (top 5): Lowell 101, Monroe 80, Crane 77, Culver 76, Central Linn 68; 10, Irrigon 27.


152--Andy Aguilera (Irrigon) d. Derek Carl (Gold Beach) 6-4. 182--Angus Swan (Oakland) p. Jamie Thomas (Irrigon) 1:58.

Consolation semifinals

182--Jamie Thomas (Irrigon) d. Dawson Shay (Vernonia) 3-1.


152--Andy Aguilera (Irrigon) m.d. Austin McNichols (Lowell) 14-6.


182--Jamie Thomas (Irrigon) m.d. Mitch Adams (Culver) 10-1.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service