Hermiston claims Tri-State crown

TRI-CITY HERALDDecember 16, 2012 

It isn't taking Shaun Williams long to make his mark at Hermiston.

The former Moses Lake assistant coach, in his first season taking over for Curt Berger after the 21-year coach stepped down last spring, has a Tri-State title on his belt after the Bulldogs claimed four individual titles.

Led by three-time Tri-State champion Tyler Berger, Hermiston finished with 222 points, 17 ahead of Kuna and more than 50 ahead of Washington powers Mead and Lake Stevens.

Berger, a 138-pound junior, was joined on the top step of the podium by teammates Isaac Aguilar at 120, Abe Rodriguez at 160 and freshman Sammy Shields-Colbray at 195.

Meanwhile, Kamiakin's Sisto Santana Pina finished third at 182, ending the tournament with a victory via medical forfeit.

Pina, a Class 3A state champ at 170 last year and seeded first at 182, reached the semifinals before being upset 6-2 by eventual champion Ryan Christensen of Woodinville. Pina then pinned his way into the third-place match.

Chris Montelongo paced Chiawana by taking fifth at 120, winning his final match with a pin over the bracket's fourth seed.

Chiawana had six more wrestlers alive on the second day, a feat in and of itself at this tournament that draws some of the top talent from Washington, Idaho, Oregon and Montana.

Among the Riverhawks' contingent were Abzael Loeza (220) and Martin Villanueva (285), who finished one match short of placing. Loeza lost his final match 4-1 to a sixth seed. Bryce Buckley (113), Pedro Murillo (126), Clayton Smith (152) and Blake Bishop (160) also were on the mats Saturday for Chiawana.

Kamiakin had three more wrestlers alive on the second day (Tyler Almaguer at 106, Cesar Castillo at 120 and Harley Kolp at 132).

But the day belonged to Hermiston, and especially to Berger, who ripped through his bracket with five pins and a 16-0 technical fall.

Aguilar earned his crown with a pin in the final second of regulation against teammate Wyatt Scribner. Rodriguez went into overtime and then claimed a 4-3 win over Mead's Tyler McLean on the first tiebreaker. Shields-Colbray beat Tanner Orndorff of University 9-4.

The Bulldogs' other placers were: Liam Tarvin (sixth at 98), AJ Garcia (fifth at 113), Andy Wagner (seventh at 113), and Beau Gleed (fifth at 132).

Also alive Saturday were Hermiston's Kendall Shurts at 182, and Armando Garcia and Jacob Batease at 285.

SunDome Mat Classic: Othello's Anthony Barrera at 106, Sunnyside's Daniel Avalos at 182 and Royal's Damien DelaRosa at 220 all claimed titles at the Yakima tourney.

Barrera claimed his crown when his opponent, brother and teammate Isaiah Barrera, defaulted. DelaRosa was one of two Royal wrestlers in the finals, as Alex Myrick finished second at 170 pounds.

Sunnyside had a bounty of top finishers, including runners-up Anthony Chavez at 126, Noe Palomino at 145 and Ramon Hernandez at 160. Also, Homer Romero finished third at 113 with an 11-2 win over teammate Jacob Mendoza.

At SunDome, Yakima

106--Championship: Anthony Barrera (Oth) inj. def. Isaiah Barrera (Oth-NS); Third-fifth: Omar Gomez (Wap) d. David Peterson (Hlnd) 9-4 (OT); Fourth-sixth: Jesse Torres (Sun) d. Hunter Bair (Ell) 1-0. 113--Victor Almaguer (Gran) m.d. Carlos Hernandez (Top) 8-0; Homer Romero (Sun) m.d. Jacob Mendoza (Sun-NS) 11-2; Travis Lyman (Ell) d. Berkley Aguiliar (EV-Y) 4-2. 120--Glenn Robertson (Fife) d. Adam Burchett (Klah) 6-3; Ricky Almaguer (Gran) d. Carlos Hernandez (Roy) 7-1; Juan Lopez (Dav) d. Danile Espinoza (Wap) 5-2. 126--Andres Tereza (Hlnd) d. Anthony Chavez (Sun) 8-2; Adrian Guerrero (Gran) d. Levi Parsley (WV-S) 10-8; Michael Hosfield (Ken) p. Alberto Montes (Wen) 2:37. 132--Jessy Gonzales (Zil) d. Austin Hilderbrand (WV-S) 9-5; Brian Burechett (Klah) d. Lucas Garza (Oth) 10-5; Joey Escobar (Top) d. Hugo Barajas (WSwn) 4-1.

138--Cortez Hernandez (Zil) d. Brent Evans (Top) 5-4; Chase Sturmer (Fife) d. Kris Garrett (Wen) 9-3; Brennan Rains (Han) d. Christian Ruiz (Sun) 5-4. 145--Diego Hernandez (Zil) t.f. Noe Palomino (Sun) 17-2; Brad Reddaway (Fife) d. Zech Romero (Top) 4-2; Dean Enstead (Gold) d. Dalton Johnson (Eph) 2-0. 152--Shane McMurray (Zil) d. Maverick Reddaway (Fife) 5-2; Bryce Unruh (Eph) d. Laddie Gorski (Roy) 8-3; Patrick Anderson (Bel) d. Austin Lyman (Ell) 9-4. 160--Konner Langholff (Klah) d. Ramon Hernandez (Sun) 5-0; Emilio Bustos (Roy) inj. def. Eric Garza (Oth); Benny Carter (Eph) d. Jeff Anheier (Han) 10-4.

170--Anton Yates (EV-Y) m.d. Alex Myrick (Roy) 10-1; Dalton Balentine (Eph) d. Mathew Melow (Oth) 5-1; Andres Acevedo (Ike) default over Tanner Warehime (NVal). 182--Daniel Avalos (Sun) m.d. David Cantu (Gran) 13-5; Jim Myers (Zil) d. Tevin Hiatt (Eph) 3-2; Michael St. Clair (Wen) d. Domingo Luna (Top) 12-5. 195--Tyrus Kemp (Eph) d. Abidan Duarte (Gran) 7-4; Jason Glenn (Ell) d. Richardo Rodriguez (Wap) 7-5 OT; Will Bishop (Han) d. Richardo Rodriguez (Wap) 8-1. 220--Damien DelaRosa (Roy) d. Jace Malek (WV-S) 3-1; Robert Koch (WV-Y) d. Austin Carmen (Sun) 6-4 OT; Kyle Lesmeister (Wen) d. Raul Pech (Top) 2-0. 285--Monike Failauga (Fife) p. Colton Gurney (WV-Y) 1:00; Robert Luna (Top) d. Jerimiah Atkins (Zil) 4-1; Bubba Ruiz (Oth) d. Ryan Osterlund (Wen) 1-0.

Warden girls tournament: Kiona-Benton's Brittnee Cook claimed the 100-pound title with an 18-5 major decision, one of three Ki-Be girls wrestling in the finals.

Kristina Mendoza lost to Warden's Jennifer Mendoza at 124, and Jessica Rolland lost in the fourth overtime to Othello's Julissa Valenciano at 118.

The Huskies also got titles from Tatum Sparks at 130 (over Warden's Brenda DeLeon) and Phelicia Perez at 137 (over Connell's Martha Corona).

Warden's Deianeria Caudle won the 106 crown, and teammate Miexy Gonzalez was htird at 137 after topped Ki-Be's Shelby Johnson.

Richland's Tamika Pierce was third at 106 and Jenilyn Ross fifth at 124. Connell's Brenda Rodriguez was third at 124.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service