Baseball: Kennewick’s Stemp named Class 3A state player of the year

June 20, 2012 

— The Washington State Baseball Coaches Association in conjunction with the Skagit Valley Herald newspaper announced the all-state baseball teams Tuesday, and the Mid-Columbia was well represented.

Kennewick shortstop Trek Stemp was named the Class 3A player of the year, while Kamiakin coach Ryan Carter was the coach of the year.

Also on the Class 3A first team were Kennewick pitcher Stetson Plew, and Kamiakin pitcher Jesse Houser and third baseman Drew Oord.

Making the second team were Hanford’s Ryan Neal and Colin Serkowski, and Southridge’s Conner O’Neil.

Richland’s Mason Hilty was named to the Class 4A first team, while teammate Corey Morris was named to the second team.

Othello’s Dave Garza made the Class 2A second team, while Kiona-Benton’s Dan Deiton and DeSales’ Cameron Richman made the Class 1A/B first team.

Washington State Baseball Coaches Assocation All-State teams

Produced in conjunction with Mount Vernon’s Skagit Valley Herald

Class 4A


Player of the year: Reece McGuire, Kentwood

Coach of the year: Mark Zender, Kentwood

First team

CJ Gettman, Wenatchee, utility, senior

Michael Rucker, Auburn Riverside, pitcher, senior

Clint Coulter, Union, catcher, senior

Dustin Driver, Wenatchee, pitcher, junior

Peter Hendron, Redmond, pitcher, senior

Mason Hilty, Richland, pitcher, junior

Reese McGuire, Kentwood, catcher, junior

Michael Nelson, South Kitsap, infielder, senior

Brandon Mahovlich, Issaquah, pitcher, senior

Dylan LaVelle, Lake Stevens, pitcher/infielder, senior

Cabe Reiten, Olympia, infielder, senior

Travis Key, Ferris, pitcher, senior

Cole Buruse, Skyview, infielder, senior

Anthony Blackie, Lake Stevens, pitcher, senior

Jacob Bettencourt, Kamiak, outfielder, junior

John Bodenhamer, Tahoma, pitcher, senior

Sam Brown, Jackson, outfielder, senior

Matt Becker, Puyallup, pitcher/outfielder, senior

Nick Sagendorf, Mead, pitcher, senior

Brett Oyer, Todd Beamer, infielder, senior

Second team

Lavante Allen, Davis, infielder, senior

Elliott Sage, Moses Lake, catcher, junior

Zach Naon, Roosevelt, outfielder, senior

Willie Augastavo, Inglemoor, infielder, junior

Shea Donlan, Woodinville, infielder, senior

Alec Cheney, Skyview, outfielder, sophomore

Ian Humphrey, Battle Ground, infielder, senior

Ian Hamilton, Skyview, pitcher, junior

Vince Sablan, South Kitsap, outfielder, senior

Taylor Jones, Kentwood, pitcher, senior

Ben Roquet, Edmonds-Woodway, infielder, senior

Evan Peterson, Puyallup, infielder, senior

Jimmy Sinatro, Skyline, catcher, senior

Joe Wainhouse, Kentridge, infielder, sophomore

Caleb Jaeger, Ballard, pitcher, senior

Corey Morris, Richland, catcher, senior

Brandon Dormaier, Marysville-Pilchuck, infielder, senior

Sheldon Stober, Kentridge, infielder, senior

Joakim Soderquist, Henry Jackson, outfielder, junior Class 3A


Player of the year: Trek Stemp, Kennewick

Coach of the year: Ryan Carter, Kamiakin

First team

Eli Fultz, Bremerton, pitcher, junior

Jake Shroeder, Ferndale, infielder, senior

Alex Foley, Eastside Catholic, pitcher, junior

Austin Barr, Camas, catcher, senior

Aaron Stroosma, Sedro Woolley, infielder, senior

Alex Hatch, Mountlake Terrace, pitcher, senior

Ted Hammond, Shorecrest, pitcher, senior

Ryan Tydingco, Timberline, infielder, senior

Nate Potterf, Bonney Lake, pitcher, senior

Chris McDowell, Mt. Vernon, pitcher, senior

Stetson Plew, Kennewick, pitcher, senior

Jonny Locher, Highline, outfielder, senior

Jesse Houser, Kamiakin, pitcher, senior

Nick Pribble, Eastside Catholic, infielder, senior

Drew Oord, Kamiakin, infielder, senior

Trek Stemp, Kennewick, infielder, senior

Zach Torson, Mountain View, pitcher, senior

Slate Miller, Kelso, outfielder, senior

Theo Alexander, Lake Washington, outfielder, senior

Trevor Lane, Mt. Si, pitcher, senior

Second team

Shane Servoss, Mt. Vernon, infielder, senior

Austin Sprague, Ferndale, infielder, junior

Matt Hirsch, Meadowdale, infielder, senior

Ryan Neal, Hanford, infielder, junior

Sam Hellinger, West Seattle, pitcher, junior

Colin Serkwoski, Hanford, infielder, senior

Chris Hunter, Auburn Mountainview, pitcher, senior

Conner O’Neil, Southridge, pitcher, junior

Buck Hale, Hudson’s Bay, infielder, senior

Riley O’Dell, Mountain View, pitcher, senior

Clark Bryant, Columbia River, utility, junior

Zach Johnson, Lake Washington, pitcher, senior

Connor Rusch, Juanita, infielder, junior

Austin Johnson, Mountlake Terrace, outfielder/catcher, senior

Kenzy Forler, Capital, pitcher, senior

Charlie Hinson, Timberline, pitcher, senior

Nick Bettinson, Shadle Park, pitcher, senior

Andrew Mattingly, Peninsula, pitcher, senior

Joey Gamache, Bonney Lake, pitcher, senior

Class 2A


Player of the year: Levi Mavorhis, Archbishop Murphy

Coach of the year: Mike Williams, White River

First team

Levi Mavorhis, Archbishop Murphy, pitcher, senior

Easton Napiontek, Port Angeles, infielder, senior

Walker Olis, Burlington-Edison, outfielder, senior

Luke Christianson, Lynden, outfielder, junior

Mitch Gueller, W.F. West, pitcher, senior

Josh Snider, Ephrata, outfielder, senior

Kurt Linderman, Selah, outfielder, senior

Andrew Pullin, Centralia, outfielder, senior

Trevor Morrison, Archbishop Murphy, shortstop, junior

Michael Wyatt, Ellensburg, infielder, senior

Jeremy Alderman, Cheney, pitcher, senior

Shane Matheny, Olympic, outfielder, sophomore

Seth Pedersen, Mark Morris, pitcher/infielder, sophomore

Brock Carpenter, Fife, infielder, junior

Second team

Jordan Kreider, Lynden, pitcher, senior

Hunter Hanson, East Valley, infielder, junior

Dave Garza, Othello, infielder, junior

JT Nettleton, North Kitsap, outfielder, sophomore

Dalton Schwetz, Burlington-Edison, infielder, junior

Nate Reece, North Kitsap, infielder, senior

Matt Meyer, Lynden, infielder, junior

Josh McLeod, Kingston, outfielder, senior

Cody Culp, Anacortes, outfielder, senior

Eric Lawson, Archbishop Murphy, third base, senior

Tyler Campbell, Sequim, catcher, senior

Zach Larson, Aberdeen, infielder, senior

Austin Strother, Interlake, pitcher, junior

Alex Keen, Lakewood, infielder, senior

Tanner Williams, White River, infielder, junior

Class 1A/B


Player of the year: Colton Loomis, Cashmere

Coach of the year: Steve Slesk, Meridian, and Jeff Carlsen, Cashmere

First team

Austin McConnel, Chimacum, senior

Lars Rider, Kalama, senior

Dan Deiton, Kiona-Benton, senior

Cole Gilman, Naches Valley, senior

Noel Gonzalez, Naches Valley, senior

Kyle Weiler, Cashmere, senior

Trenton Johnson, Cashmere, senior

Landon Cray, Chimacum, junior

Austin Baker, Montesano, senior

Mitch Vanerlinden, Freeman, senior

Colton Loomis, Cashmere, senior

Andrew Petersdorf, University Prep, senior

Jackson Webb, Asotin, senior

Cameron Richman, DeSales, freshman

Mack Gaul, Toledo/Winlock, junior

Second team

Cooper Elliot, Cashmere, senior

Chase Heslep, Meridian, senior

Alec Dennis, Charles Wright Academy, senior

JR Henry, Colville, senior

Spencer Douglas, Newport, senior

Calvin Connall, Chewelah, senior

Daniel Knowles, Lakeside Nine Mile Falls, junior

Tanner Vossen, Kalama, senior

Cody Sweat, Chewelah, senior

Layne Bruner, Montesano, junior

Tucker Bronkema, Meridian, junior

Joel Moore, Orting, senior

Joel Vogel, Mossyrock, senior

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service