Leach era begins for WSU today

March 15, 2012 

— At approximately 3:10 p.m. today, the Mike Leach era at Washington State will officially begin.

The Cougars open spring football practice this afternoon at Rogers Field in Pullman.

Washington State will play its annual spring game at 1 p.m. April 21 at Joe Albi Stadium in Spokane.

Leach, the former head coach at Texas Tech, was hired in the offseason and charged with turning around the moribund Cougars.

Washington State returns 47 lettermen from last season's 4-8 team. Offensively, the Cougars return All-America wide receiver Marquess Wilson. Three starters from the offensive line are also back, in John Fullington, Matt Goetz and Dan Spitz.

On the defensive side of the ball, the Cougars return seven starters including Travis Long and Lenard Williams at defensive end.

The Cougars will practice Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays at Rogers Field.

Washington State University spring practice schedule

Thursday, March 22 3:10 p.m.

Saturday, March 24 10:10 a.m.

Tuesday, March 27 3:10 p.m.

Thursday, March 29 3:10 p.m.

Saturday, March 31 10:10 a.m.

Tuesday, April 3 3:10 p.m.

Thursday, April 5 3:10 p.m.

Saturday, April 7 10:10 a.m.

Tuesday, April 10 3:10 p.m.

Thursday, April 12 3:10 p.m.

Saturday, April 14 10:10 a.m.

Tuesday, April 17 3:10 p.m.

Thursday, April 19 3:10 p.m.

Saturday, April 21 1 p.m. (Crimson and Gray Game at Joe Albi Stadium, Spokane)

Tuesday, April 24 3:10 p.m.

Tri-City Herald is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service